Buffy in Comic Land

Angel & Faith: Daddy Issues by Christopher Gage, Rebekah Isaacs with Chris Samnee and Joss Whedon

Obviously, I love Buffy. And no offense anyone who doesn’t but your life is sad. And for anyone who hasn’t seen it, boy are you in for a treat! But I hadn’t dabbled in the comics frankly because I’d heard a few things that happen in them and I wasn’t too pleased with how my favourite characters sounded like they were turning out. I probably would have gone on through most of my life perfectly content with that, but I came across one, solitary graphic novel in an amazing second hand book store a few Free Comic Book days ago so I decided to give it a go.

Years later.

This book fits in a larger story arch out there somewhere that I haven’t read, so there are a few gaps in my knowledge of the story, but as it’s own book, there’s a lot about it that I really, really liked.

As the title would suggest, the book centers on Angel (the champion, the vampire with a soul, basically doomed to love a Slayer and know that he’s no good for her) and Faith (a Slayer who went very, very rogue for a while but came around to the light side in the end). In the show these two characters were amazing together, although they didn’t spend a lot of time together. Faith was possibly the only good thing about Angel season 4. And the comic does a great job carrying that forward.

Angel and Faith and independently pursuing a monster that drives people insane. Their paths cross and they learn who the mastermind is: Drusilla, a vampire that Angel turned before he had a soul, but not before he drove her insane. She is using a demon to take away people’s pain, but in doing so, takes away who they are.  As the pair try to take down Dru, they  both struggle with their only feelings about fathers. Angel, by turning Drusilla is a kind of father to her and doesn’t know how to take responsibility for that. Faith’s dead beat dad has reappeared and says he wants them to be a family again, but Faith is is having trouble trusting him. Rightly so, as it turns out.

This story is really interesting because it asks a good question – could you give up the things that hurt you most? If you would, how would it change you and would you want it to?

As it turns out, in the context of the whole story, Angel is on a quest to resurrect Giles (MY FAVOURITE CHARACTER, HOW CAN HE BE DEAD?) And Faith joins him on it, leading to an entertaining encounter with his mysterious Aunties. Sadly, that story doesn’t get resolved in this book, but the characters were interesting, funny, sinister and offered a lot of insight into the amazing character that is Giles.

I’m still a little skeptical about some of the things that I’ve heard about Buffy comics but after this read, I’d be totally willing to give them a try.

Last movie I watched:

Might have been the Backup Plan. I can’t remember.

Last TV episode I watched:

A Smallville probably. It’s not a genius show maybe, but it sure is a nice show.

Leave a Reply

