Oh Marie Lu, how much do I regret accidentally spoiling this series for myself?

Prodigy by Marie Lu

I had heard that this series was good, really, really good so when I saw one of them on shelf I was like “hey! this one looks like the first book, let’s listen to it on the drive to work.”

It wasn’t the first book.

On the other hand, it was really, really good.

So I strongly recommend anyone who liked Hunger Games or Divergent pick up this series immediately if not sooner. Also anyone who likes smart writing. Or cool heroes and heroines. Or really books. If you like books you should hunt down this series. Right now.

It’s basically impossible to talk about this book without spoiling it, and also the books that come before it and it’s bad enough I spoiled that for myself, I don’t want to ruin it for everyone.

Instead then I will mention a bit about why I think this world is so cool.

The Republic and the Colonies make up the former United States in this book and their distinct cultures really made sense. The Republic is militarism taken to an insane level, a country where the military doesn’t just fight enemies but it is literally the only thing you can do with your life. The Colonies take consumerism and drive it to an oppressive level. I thought this was amazingly cool. Two huge factors in American society, culture and identity ,which are  kind of at war with each other in the lives and policies of American people and political structure driven to a place where they are both destructive and crippling for the people who live in them. Neat, complex and really what futurist fiction should do – drive us to question the present.

I also loved the international community’s view of the former United States. As rogue nations that continues to wage war on each other with no interest in peace and a dependency on foreign aid.  It’s hard to consider, once you’ve got to know and love people in the Republic, what our attitudes towards other countries are when they are in similar situations and not feel a little guilt and confusion. Again, great fiction is meant to make us think about our lives and our society and our choices.

And of course, mixed in with this is an awesome story of two people trying to find their way through a world they don’t understand. And that’s awesome too.

Now, go forth and read this series.

Last movie I watched:

Despicable Me 2!! Or as I like to call it, Minions. It was adorable

Last TV episode I watched:

Charmed. BYE BYE PRUE

Leave a Reply

