A lovely, lovely, love story

The One by Kiera Cass

Okay straight up, I have to admit two things. 1) This story had plot holes I could drive a convoy of elephants pulling all the trucks that cross the Ambassador Bridge through. 2) It was such a lovely sweet love story that I couldn’t bring myself to care.

These two points will be my thesis for the blog post. Because I like to write blog post essays. ‘Cause I’ve been out school for long enough I’m starting to think about writing essays as an enjoyable activity. Oh god, what have I become?

This book had huge plot holes (here there be spoilers). Really, really big ones, the kind that I would only associate with poorly thought out science fiction, and dramatically increased by the fact that the author was more interested in writing a love story then a political novel. Some of the obvious problems include but aren’t limited to 1) what happened to the Southern Rebels? Am I honestly expected to believe that, now that Maxim is king they’re just going to back off and go about doing nothing? The last three books built them up as horrible monsters, and in the final battle it was pretty clearly proven by the brutal murder of Celeste, but now that they’ve killed the old king they’re just gonna let his son have a happily ever after? I highly doubt that and even with the support of the Northern Rebels, it’s not like that fight’s just ended. Plus everyone took the murder of their friends and family pretty lightly didn’t they? No one wants revenge on the cold blooded murders who put bullets in the brains of innocent girls, brave women and countless soldiers? Everyone’s so excited that Maxim is in charge now that they’re just going to forgive and forget? I don’t see it. Other questions include 1) America had a big revelation about realizing no one knew where the Southern Rebel, but then we never learn where actually get them. Unless they’re slowly killing off soldiers, but that doesn’t track with the first few books, or at least, not as I remember them. 2) Are we just going to accept that Anne went missing? People die in war, I get that, but her loss wasn’t moving or upsetting or anything. It was downplayed and kind of unfair for a character who was pretty important to the story. 3) What happened to Paige? We went through a lot of personal details for a character who was only in it for a chapter. 4) Why was Koda such a prick? That served almost no point in the story, he just continued to be unfortunate with no resolution and no real purpose. Sometimes you can leave holes for legitimate literary reasons, I get that too. But these just seem to be the author got distracted by writing a beautiful love story, so she ignored them all.

Having said that, I loved the love story. Maybe the difference in my level of enthusiasm between book two and book three is I fell in love between reading the them. America and Maxin do all the amazing messing things that I got to do. Fifty thousand miscommunications, lost opportunities, moments when the absolutely wrong thing was said, or the right thing left unsaid but still the incredible drive to be with each other. No matter how much they screw up and fumble through their relationship because no matter how many times they make each other cry or scream or hurt, they still have to find a way to make it work. Lots of movies and fiction kind of gloss over how bumpy the start of a relationship can be. And then there’s also the amazing, heart exploding happiness as well. This book did an amazing job of that feeling too, and I just related to it so much that I am comfortable overlooking all those gaping plot related mistakes to giggle about how happy I am, and how nice it is that America and Maxim are happy too.

Last movie I watched:

Still Children of Dune (FAVOURITE MINI SERIES EVER) or About Time (FAVOURITE LIFE LIKE MOVIE THAT INVOLVES TIME TRAVEL)

Last TV episode I watched:

Charmed. I’m pretty sure that Leo and Piper are going to temporarily break up this episode and it’s stressing me out.

Leave a Reply

