New life goal: Hang out in graveyards

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

The Graveyard Book is the story of Nobody Owens, called Bod, a boy who is raised by ghosts. When Bod was just a toddler the Man Jack slaughtered his family, but as a curious, adventurous child, he quite accidentally escaped that night and was rescued by the ghosts in the Graveyard up the hill. There, safely hidden from the Man Jack and the rest of the world, Nod grows up, makes friends, looses some of them, learns and saves the world.

The audio book was read by Neil Gaiman, which was lovely. He animated the text in a way that I don’t think anyone else could and it was amazing.

I also really loved the book. The first chapter was great, I couldn’t wait until the next one. Which was kind of a small, episodic story. And so was the next one. And the next one. And after a while I was getting worried that it was just going to be just a string of cute little stories but then it got pulled all together nicely in the end. It was beautiful.

The ghosts were amazing, and probably my favourite parts, the ghosts and the other monsters who are part of Nod’s life. And he’s a delightful little hero, written perfectly to match Nod’s development. It’s full of fun literary and historical jokes which I loved and did a really good job of delving into the deep history of England without ever beating you to death with it Edward Rutherford style.

Delightful, funny but maybe not a great kids book. It was also wordy and sometimes slow, with loads of description. Things that I enjoy as an adult, but I’m not sure I’d have plowed through as a child. I’d read it with high skilled readers I think, but probably not pitch it at every kid I ever saw.

Even if I loved it.

Last movie I watched:

About Time I think. Most beautiful movie ever. So beautiful.

Last TV episode I watched:

VERONICA MARS!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

