New addition to my favourite graphic novels ever list

Smile by Raina Telgemeier

The cover of Smile is a big yellow happy face with all its teeth showing and braces running across them. It’s a true story based on the author and illustrators dental trauma. And it’s so true to growing up. Or at least growing up as I remember it.

At the beginning of the book Raina is in grade sixth and she’s dreading getting braces. But after an accident knocks out her front two teeth she starts to wish that braces were the only dental work she needs. Woven in through the story of Raina getting her smile fixed are details about her growing up. The story carries her out of middle school and through her first year of high school, through friend drama, crushes and her finally understanding what she wants to do with her life.

I don’t know. I mean, it was just a really relate-able story for me.  I, like most people my age, experienced the pain and horror of braces and Raina’s visits to the various dentists are exactly like I remember mine being (torture). Her transition from middle school to high school seemed pretty spot on. The way high school smoothed out for her once she started picking friends who she liked, not people she knew totally happened to me.

It’s a really different feel from most of the graphic novels on my best ever list, because the reason it’s on the list is how right it feels.

Everyone should check it out because I’m not sure what else to say about it.

Last movie I watched: Skyfall. I kind of liked it more than a lot of the Bonds actually. I felt like it …. was a better story. It wasn’t just about stuff getting blown up. Although there was a lot of that.

Last TV episode I watched: Downton Abbey. Still. So good.

Leave a Reply

