Day two of the graphic novel experience

The Avengers: Which Wish by Paul Tobin, illustrated by Jacopo Camagni and owned by Marvel

Unlike the Dresden Files, which I would say could be considered either children or young adult, this graphic novel is clearly in the children’s section. I mean, it’s about superheroes who accidentally unleash a genie. Hardly a sophisticated or unusual plot, and certainly not a challenging read.

But really fun.

I was impressed with the way the author and illustrator were able to get so much character, and character dynamics within the team, in 25 short pages. The same enjoyable inter-team banter that made the Avengers such a cool movie also popped up in this graphic novel.

If I were looking for something to help kids, probably mostly boys but I’m sure there are loads of girls too, to learn to read I’d probably recommend something like this. The text is short, so you don’t get bogged down and frustrated by too many hard words in a row, the text is in different fonts so there’s  less chance of the words getting boring (or I think anyway, I don’t know if there’s any evidence to suggest too much text of the same font is boring to kids but it’s boring to me sometimes) and there are loads of pictures to help, give hints or explain the action in case something got missed.

The one things that I really didn’t like about this book was the boobs. I mean, seriously – no woman could ever have breasts like Tigra and anyone who has a set of breasts of their own  knows that they can’t be allowed to just escape like that and get everywhere! Boobs are exciting but not that exciting. Also, for the folks in the I’m-more-into-abs-then-breasts crowd there was nothing comparable which makes me think that they’re making some pretty unfortunate assumptions about their target audience.

Which, by the way, is children. So figure that out.

I know, I know, comics have a long proud tradition of overly busty women but my family has a long, proud tradition of screwing up the Thanksgiving turkey, but every year we tried to break that cycle. I’m just saying….

Reading  this graphic novel has raised another question for me. Graphic novel versus comic book – what’s the difference? Is there a difference? How does that effect things like purchasing for libraries? I do not know.

Last movie I watched: Most of something really weird on TV last night.  John Malkovich saw people glowing with a white light before they died and had to help this dude come to terms with death. Or something. It was weird.

Last TV show I watched: Spooks! Episode 1 season 8. Spoilers: RUTH IS BACK AND  HARRY DIDN’T DIE. Delightful.

Leave a Reply

