Project number one

The Dresden Files: Welcome to the Jungle by Jim Butcher (Illustrations by Ardian Syaf)

One of the things I’m working on, now that I’m an employed librarian, is developing the Juvenile graphic novel collection at my library.

This is exciting!

But, as previously discussed, I’ve read very few graphic novels. I  know, I could probably do this whole thing without reading one but since I’m going to be looking into which ones are awesome and popular and smart I figured I might as well read a few and get an idea about what they’re like.

So more or less at random, I selected the Dresden Files. I guess I liked the pictures (point one of a good graphic novel experience – nice pictures). Apparently (it’s possible I’m a little slow on the uptake here) the Dresden Files is a novel series and was also adapted into a TV show (guess what I’m doing the next time I’ve got access to some internet not provided by… well let’s just call them something that rhymes… maybe… Hell?). Anyway, so without a lot of background I started Welcome to the Jungle.

I feel like I’m getting much closer to mastering the art of reading graphic novels. I think I read almost all the bubbles in order.

So, I’m still not sure exactly what to say about graphic novels. I liked the images for sure, and it was absolutely the kind of story I enjoy (Wizards!). I guess the thing I found most interesting about it was how quickly I got through it (I mean it’s not terribly long but they are just so much faster than novels) but even though I got through it very quickly, I got pretty attached to the characters and the story. I mean, if a novel was over that quickly I’d probably feel like I didn’t know or care that much about the characters and that there just wasn’t that much plot, but somehow pictures seem to make up for that.

I don’t know. I’ve got eight more out of the library and I seem to be able to get through them quickly, so the next few blogs will document my (hopefully) new understand of graphic novels.

Last movie I watched: X-men First Class. I’m pretty sure I’ll never get over how much I love that movie. I mean it has two of my ultimate favourite actors (James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender) and the X-men are my favourite Marvel comic superheroes and there’s so much awesome homo-social bonding and it’s AWESOME.

I haven’t watched any TV since I last posted. Weird. BSG is still awesome though.

Leave a Reply

