Another post today!

No, this doesn’t mean I’ve actually got no life at all, it just means that I read another short book.

Serenity: Those Left Behind by Joss Whedon, Brett Matthews and Will Conrad

This was my second attempt at a graphic novel/comic. I read another Joss Whedon one last summer but I didn’t get that much out of it. Probably because it was the third of four and I had no context for the aliens attacking the X-Men. Whatever, I want to read graphic novels/ comics ’cause they’re really neat and people are doing neat things with them (like Shakespeare!) but I have trouble reading the bubbles in order.

However, I used to have a lot of problems reading words in order too and I practiced my way out of that, so hopefully the same theory will apply here.

So this little graphic novel/comic covers why Inara and Book decided to leave Serenity (other than plot points for the movie I suppose.)

I’d really like to say some super intelligent stuff about this book, but I don’t really know what it should be. I mean, I don’t have a lot of points of comparison for this. Was it a good story? I suppose so. I mean, not complicated or anything, and very short but I enjoyed it. Were the characters good? Yes but there wasn’t much character development  (it was short) so if I hadn’t seen Firefly six hundred and nine times I probably wouldn’t have loved them as much as I do (although I enjoyed reading the words in my head with the actor’s voices). The pictures were nice, really neat even and they were very narrative but they weren’t beautiful either.

So I’m going to have to read some other graphic novel/comics to get some points of reference and will report back later.

Last movie I watched (before the last movie I watched in the last post): Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Those movies handled their death scenes really well.

Last TV show I watched (before the last TV show I watched int he last post): LEVERAGE! Everyone should see this show. It’s like Ocean’s 11 but you only need to keep track of 5 people instead of 11 and they screw corporations to empower individuals! I love that story line!

Leave a Reply

